Civics Lessons for Students
Ohio Lesson Banner

Ohio Lesson


Ohio is located in the midwestern part of the United States, just south of Lake Erie. It became the 17th U.S. state on March 1, 1803. Ohio is a Seneca Indian word and it means "large creek". About eleven and a half million people live in the state. The state capital and largest city in Ohio is Columbus. Columbus was named after explorer Christopher Columbus. Ohio has several nicknames: Birthplace of Aviation, The Heart of it All, The Buckeye State, and The Mother of Presidents. The highest point in the state is Campbell Hill and the lowest is the Ohio River. Major cities include: Cleveland, Toledo, Akron, Youngstown, Dayton, Marietta, and Wheeling. (3 pages)

Map of Ohio

Map of Ohio

  • Ohio is located in the midwestern part of the United States.

  • It shares borders with Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Kentucky, Indiana, and Michigan.

  • Ohio became a state on March 1, 1803.


State Flag of Ohio

State Flag of Ohio

  • Ohio's state flag is red, white, and blue. Unlike most flags, it is not a rectangle. It is a burgee, which means it tapers at one end. It has a fishtail shape on the tapered end.

  • The 17 stars symbolize that Ohio was the 17th state to join the U.S.

  • The large white letter "O" stands for Ohio.

  Page 2 >>

Copyrights to the pictures and photos on this civics 50-states photo tour website belong to individual photographers. We have purchased the rights to use them. Do not copy the pictures/photos on this site. Permission is granted to copy any of the worksheets for classroom use. Permission is granted to link to any page of this website. Contact Christina Niven, Web Developer, at Please send corrections, comments, greetings, and requests for new photo tours, state lessons, and civics units. Copyright © Christina Niven, 2007.

  EL Civics Home