EL Civics for ESL Students
Mount Rushmore National Park in the Black Hills of South Dakota

Mount Rushmore Photo Tour

by elcivics.com

Mount Rushmore is located in the Black Hills of South Dakota. It has the faces of four United States presidents carved in the side of a mountian. The presidents are: George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt, and Abraham Lincoln. Workers worked on the project from 1927-1941. They used dynamite to clear away unwanted rock. Mount Rushmore National Memorial is managed by the National Park Service, which is part of the United States Department of the Interior. Over two million people visit the monument each year. (3 pages)

Black Hills of South Dakota

Where is this road?

  • It is in western South Dakota near Mount Rushmore.
  • South Dakota is located in the north western part of the United States.


Mount Rushmore View from Road

What is the name of this mountain?

  • It is Mount Rushmore.
  • It has the faces of four United States presidents carved on its side.
  • It is a popular tourist attraction. More than two million people visit Mount Rushmore each year.

  Page 2 >>

Copyrights to the pictures and photos on this ESL/EL Civics website and photo tour unit belong to individual photographers. We have purchased the rights to use them. Do not copy the pictures/photos on this site. Permission is granted to copy any of the worksheets for classroom use. Permission is granted to link to any page of this website. Contact Christina Niven, Web Developer, at christina@elcivics.com. Please send corrections, comments, greetings, and requests for new photo tours, lessons, and civics units. Copyright © Christina Niven, 2007.